Philippines, Japan, and Indonesia to host FIBA Basketball World Cup in 2023

MIES, Switzerland (FIBA Basketball World Cup 2023) – FIBA on Saturday awarded the hosting rights for the FIBA Basketball World Cup 2023 to Philippines/Japan/Indonesia. This marks the first time in the competition’s history that it is to be staged in more than one country.

Philippines/Japan/Indonesia and Argentina/Uruguay were the finalists to host the event due to take place in just under six years’ time.  The decision was made by FIBA’s Central Board after the bidders gave final presentations to support their candidatures to host the 19th edition of basketball’s biggest competition.The Central Board voted unanimously in favor of the candidature put forward by Philippines/Japan/Indonesia.

Manuel V. Pangilinan, Chairman Emeritus of the Philippines Basketball Association (PBA), who headed the Philippines/Japan/Indonesia candidature said, “We are extremely happy that FIBA has decided to award the hosting right for the FIBA Basketball World Cup 2023 to Philippines/Japan/Indonesia. The World Cup is an event that fans of basketball in these three countries are very proud of and hosting it will allow to spread the basketball fever across the three countries and the region.”

FIBA President Horacio Muratore said “Congratulations to Philippines, Japan, Indonesia as they will host a first-of-a-kind FIBA Basketball World Cup in 2023, when it is staged across multiple countries. This was a very difficult decision as both candidatures were of exceptional quality. We want to congratulate both bidders for their outstanding work. We are very pleased to see national federations team up and put together bids of the highest quality to host our World Cup. We look forward to witnessing a FIBA Basketball World Cup Final played in a venue packed with more than 50,000 basketball crazy fans in the Philippines, a country where basketball is a religion.”

The FIBA Basketball World Cup 2023 will see the Group Phase take place in Philippines, Japan and Indonesia, with the Final Phase to follow in the Philippine capital city of Manila.

Source: FIBA (International Basketball Federation)